Versatile Blogger Award! Who? Me? Yes, you. That’s who.

I am fairly new to the blogging world, but seriously loving it more each day. Writing is such a freeing experience and there are so many interesting things to read out there. So I am overjoyed that a follower of mine thought enough of my blog to give it the  Versatile Blogger Award. The award has rules, as I so aptly learned from my ‘awarder’, and being an A-type personality, I generally love to follow rules, so here goes:

1. Thank the person who gave you this award. That’s common courtesy.
2. Include a link to their blog. That’s also common courtesy — if you can figure out how to do it.

So big shout out and thank you to Rachel at Peace, Love & Fabulous Things for this award! Thanks gal! It means a lot to me that you enjoy this blog.

3. Select 15 excellent blogs/bloggers that you’ve recently discovered or follow regularly.
4. Nominate those 15 bloggers for the Versatile Blogger Award

These are some of the blogs that I am really enjoying at the moment. Please check them out!

1. lifeinthefarcelane – Honest, humorous & fabulous take on dating and life from a forty+ year old woman

2. snapshots of a crazy kind of life – A free-thinking, no longer 20-something gal’s perspective on life

3. strawmanchronicles – Calling out dishonesty in the media

4. The Daily What – a little bit of everything and anything, random, serious and regular

5. MWF seeking BFF – married white female on a search for a best friend forever & wrote a book about it!

6. My Next Date – A male’s perspective on dating

7. Overexposed & Underdeveloped – great photos of a family & life

8. I Have the Perfect Life? – freelancer and family woman living in Minnesota

9. Me! – Twenty-something insights on dating and life. Love the energy.

10. F to the Fourth Power – Another 40+ woman telling it like it is.

11. Ro Does Life – Love the honest insight from a woman trying to be her authentic self and shed 90 lbs

12. Mike_Reverb – aspiring writer talks that talks about things that are sometimes out of my ‘usual,’  but find it entertaining

13. Brook and McKenzie – two twenty-something friends writing about love and dating in this sex-crazed culture with great insight

14. Great Thoughts – interesting thoughts via a journal of life and other occurrences by Andrew

15. Lastly, for me the Word Press Blog has been helpful since I’m new to this and definitely need all the help I can get!

5. Finally, tell the person who nominated you 7 things about yourself.

So 7 tidbits about myself
1. I lived in East Africa for 11 years, but my favorite country to visit is Greece.
2. I am the oldest of four children.
3.I have 5 nephews and 1 niece. I hope I can add another girl to that group someday soon!
4. I absolutely adore the wide open, blue blue skies of Colorado.
5. I will sheepishly admit to a Twilight addiction earlier this year – books, movies and everything that goes with it. I am definitely Team Edward.

6. Beach or Mountains? Beach will win out every time.
7. Halloween is my favorite holiday!

Thanks again Rachel for the nomination and thanks to everyone follows my blog. I am finding my true voice so I appreciate your ears and opinions!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ihavetheperfectlife
    Apr 04, 2012 @ 21:05:12

    Congratulations on a well-deserved award! I love your honest sharing!

    And thank you so much for honoring me with the award as well! … I’ll link back once I acknowledge the award on my blog… in the meantime – KEEP UP THE GREAT WRITING!!!

    XOXOXO,
    Ann

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Versatile Blogger Award Winner– That’s Me! « Snapshots of a… Crazy Kinda Life
  3. lifeinthefarcelane
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 14:09:57

    Thank you so much, Maggie! I am honoured to make the list and love yours, too! 🙂

    Reply

    • maggieat40
      Mar 28, 2012 @ 15:53:39

      You are so welcome! Anxiously awaiting the outcome of the serious talk! I voted that it has to be about something good because NO man plans a serious ‘negative’ talk in advance. They are all to chicken! Chin up!

      Reply

  4. mikereverb
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 00:40:24

    Maggie, thank you so much for the award!

    I truly enjoy reading your posts as well; you certainly lead an interesting life, and the honesty of your writing is refreshing.

    I’ve recently (about a week or so ago) received this award and have created a post nominating 15 blogs, so I hope you don’t take offense if I refrain from repeating the process so soon.

    However, of course I’m honored to have made your list.

    I have to ask: what made you move to and from East Africa? I haven’t met many people who have visited Africa (though it looks absolutely beautiful); I’m always curious as to why people move to a specific place.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

    • maggieat40
      Mar 28, 2012 @ 16:01:28

      Mike – You are welcome and no offense taken on refraining from repeat. I totally understand. For a long time, I wanted to live in Africa but I knew I could never work there without experience. So I moved over on a year long volunteer program called Vision in Action which allowed me to work for a large public health project funded by the US govt. It was a great hands-on, learning from the ground up experience. For the first time, I truly discovered my career passion! After a couple of years I started a non-governmental organization in uganda which I directed for a couple of years, went on to get my Masters in Public Health and then returned for more work in Kenya. It’s been a wonderful experience. I absolutely adore East Africa and the people and learned so much, but over time I have missed my family and had some other personal priorities that I wanted to focus on – so I decided to return. Am now trying to make a go of things in Colorado.

      I encourage you to visit if you can. Kenya, in particular, is a great vacation destination because you have white sand beaches and warm water on the coast and then magnificent safaris – all within 45 min. plane rides from the capitol, Nairobi. If you ever decide to make it happen, please be in touch. Happy to pass along contacts or advice on booking a trip, as well as location recommendations! Cheers.

      Reply

  5. ro
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:53:28

    Awww shucks, well thanks Ms. Maggie. I shure doos appreciate it:) I’m so new to the blogging world, I’ll have to read up on all this business!

    Reply

  6. stevesw
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:11:37

    Thank you for visiting MyNextDate and the nomination, much appreciated. Hope the pingback brings new new readers to your blog, Steve.

    Reply

  7. Messie Jessie
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 18:53:18

    Thank you for the nomination; I am seriously honored!! I’m sharing this post and will give you a shout out on my blog! 🙂 !! 🙂

    Reply

Got Something to Say? Spill it here....

